Battlegroup Wargame Rules
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
r0b0ty

Have no Minis... What to buy? Empty Have no Minis... What to buy?

Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:38 pm
Hi everyone! I apologise for the generic question, but I'm looking for guidance, as I'm new to this game and WW2 wargaming in general.

I have bought the core rules and the Overlord Beyond the Beaches books. As I'm sure you know, the core rules includes army lists for the Canadian 3rd Infantry and 12th SS Panzer. Scanning through the contents of Overlord, they seem to include British and American armored and infantry lists, as well as additional German battle groups.

Can you please recommend boxed set of armies for me to purchase to start out? Obviously some German army kit, and one of the Allied forces (or two?)... Something that would give me decent flexibility to play different scenarios in the books I currently have.

I've seen some nice kits from PSC, but it's a little confusing what to get, as there are quite a bit of such nice kits!! It may be that the recommendation is to get a combo of one big box and a few individual units. I don't know... Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance, guys.
Piers
Piers
https://battlegroupwargame.forumotion.com

Have no Minis... What to buy? Empty Re: Have no Minis... What to buy?

Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:46 pm
15mm or 20mm?
r0b0ty

Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:04 pm
20mm, sorry...
NTM

Sun Feb 18, 2018 4:54 pm
Don't think starter army boxes not that common in 20mm. PSC do a few but perhaps not the best way to go imho. To start off a platoon of infantry and tanks is a good way to go. Coincidentally a box of each from PSC will provide enough to do that. From there you can add more core units and support options to suit.
r0b0ty

Sun Feb 18, 2018 6:19 pm