Go down
Taranis

Litko plywood bases vs MDF

on Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:02 pm
I'm fairly new to this hobby and have only used plastic bases in the past. With BG I want to use a 3mm thick bases to make them easier to pick up and move. I was planning on going with MDF bases but I heard they absorb acrylic paints and need to be sealed before applying acrylic paints.

Is this true of plywood bases as well or can you directly apply acrylic primer to plywood bases? Also what is the best way to seal a MDF base if I go that route?

For reference I'm basing 1/285 scale models for Tobruk and Torch once I can get my hands on it.

Thanks

Last edited by Taranis on Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:39 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : spelling)
NTM

Re: Litko plywood bases vs MDF

on Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:06 pm
I use mdf bases exclusively and have no issues painting them with acrylics.
Dixie D

on Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:42 am
Likewise no issues with mdf.
Warbases.co.uk all the way ☺️
Taranis

on Sat Feb 17, 2018 2:09 am
Glad to hear that acrylic paints and MDF bases  haven't been an issue for you guys!

Anyone have experience with Litko plywood bases, is there any advantage to using them over MDF? Unfortunately I don't have a gaming store near me to compare the two in person so I'll have to order them online.

Thanks for the the information

Last edited by Taranis on Mon Feb 19, 2018 3:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Greystreak

on Sat Feb 17, 2018 7:10 pm