Battlegroup Wargame Rules
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
lstarup

German MG team Empty German MG team

Thu May 24, 2018 5:07 pm
Hi guys

I'm new to Battlegroup, and have just started to build my first German army, but I'm not sure how to build the MG teams. If I look at the Infantry Weapons Of World War II section in the main rule book, it says that the MG-34 and MG-42 has a two man crew, but almost all army lists I can find say 3 man crew.

So my question is 2 or 3 man crew.

Thanks
Gunbird
Gunbird

German MG team Empty Re: German MG team

Thu May 24, 2018 6:14 pm
Always follow the armylist. 3 man crew.
lstarup

Thu May 24, 2018 7:27 pm
Thanks for you quick answer, I will now continue with my army building.

THANKS
Greebs
Greebs

Thu May 24, 2018 10:31 pm
I'm too lazy to go check, but I think the rulebook states that the M34/42 *requires* a two man crew, as a minimum. The third man just makes them a hair less fragile and represents a more historically sound unit formation.
pzivh43
pzivh43

Fri May 25, 2018 1:22 pm
Greebs for the win---just checked the Kursk book and it says "requires a crew of 2 to fire at full effect."
Gunbird
Gunbird

Fri May 25, 2018 9:28 pm
pzivh43 wrote:Greebs for the win---just checked the Kursk book and it says "requires a crew of 2 to fire at full effect."

Which is irrelevant as that isn't the question...... He is building forces, and while you need at least 2 men to fire at full effect ruleswise, buildwise you model 3 men team as stated in the army list Neutral Whether you do 3 seperate, a 2 man team and a loader or spotter, or 3 men on a base.... is up to the player.
Greebs
Greebs

Fri May 25, 2018 9:33 pm